The Daily Degenerate Fantasy Baseball Picks 6/30

aacash2

Fresh off a weekend of fun in the sun. I ‘m back and ready to talk some daily fantasy baseball. My good fortune continued this weekend as I steamrolled the competition winning a 20-team Razzball tourney, a handful of H2H’s and placing in a GPP each night. Things are good in the Lifshitz house. When I’m winning in DFS my kids are a little sweeter, my wife is less of a nag, and I even tolerate my cat peeing on everything. I think she’s still mad at me for pushing for a dog.

aacat2

Here are today’s picks for DraftKings. Viva la hot streak!

All prices based on DraftKings.

SP 1- Mat Latos, $9,400: I actually suggested Mr. Latos here on Wednesday in his start against the Cubbies. Latos didn’t disappoint last turn going 7, allowing 1 ER on 5 hits with no walks and 5 K’s. A tidy little start from Mat. I wonder if he gave Dallas a good old fashioned motorboat after? Those things are built for speed! Anythewho, he gets to return to his old stomping grounds of San Diego and much like Ron Burgundy should take the town by storm. I expect another great outing from Mat today against the league’s worst lineup. The Padres are bottom three in runs, home runs, RBI’s, Batting average, On base percentage, slugging, wOBA, and wRC+.

SP 2 – Collin McHugh, $9,000: I’m just realizing that I picked McHugh on Wednesday as well. The pitching combo of he and Latos worked out great that night. So why not roll with it again? McHugh put up 24.2 points that night in a losing effort. His K’s have been downright tasty as he’s put up a K/9 of 10.08. That’s top 10 in the league, sitting in the company of such arms as Darvish, Price, Kershaw, Strasburg, and Scherzer. He gets the Mariners offense today who have been sort of middle of the pack the past month or so. Still not a bad matchup and I expect another solid start with good K numbers today.

C – Carlos Santana, $4,400: Remember about a month ago when Santana was hot garbage? Well in the last month he’s picked it up and started to round back into the form we’re used to. He’s had some big games in Daily Fantasy over that time. Putting up 5 games or more of 11 points in his last 12. I like Santana to continue his Evil Ways and continue to pound baseballs.

1B – Jose Abreu, $5,000: I love Jose Abreu and try and get him into as many lineups as I can on DraftKings. Today is no different. I’m not too worried about the matchup and you can throw stats out the window. I’m just focused on that delicious power. In the immortal words of The Guru “I need an Abreu dong!”

2B – Ben Zobrist, $3,900: in his last 5 games Zobrist has put up 29, 11, 0, 5, and 19 points. He’s certainly capable of some big games. He faces the Yankees and David Phelps today. The switch hitter is 5 for 12 lifetime off Phelps and he’s hitting at Yankee stadium so the environment is a perfect setup.

3B – Manny Machado, $4,100: Machado has been suspended, so a nice pivot for the same price could be Brock Holt or Xander Bogaerts.

SS – Alexei Ramirez, $3,700: SS has a ton of pricey options today and this is a pure value play. Ramirez has been damn good averaging 7.5 PPG on Draftkings and he gives me the always dangerous speed/power combo. I’m breaking wishbones, rubbing my rabbit foot, and praying to the baseball gods for a slam and legs from Sexi Alexei.

OF 1 – Kole Calhoun, $3,900: Six of Calhoun’s last 7 games have been 9 point and above. Four of those 6 have been 15 points or more. He’s facing Hector Noesi owner of a 5.07 ERA. So this setups nicely for Kole to continue his hot hitting ways.

OF 2 – George Springer, $4,100: After three 14+ point efforts in his last 6 I’m hoping Springer is starting another one of those hot streaks like the one he had at the end of May. After a steal yesterday I’m also hoping he begins to run more often the way he did in the minors (45 steals) last season.  The potential for slam and legs always has me ready to buy.

OF 3 – Mookie Betts, $2,300: As a loyal Red Sox fan and Rookie-file I’m all over Mookie today. He went 1/3 with a walk and a run scored in his big league debut last night at the stadium. He’s had a wOBA of over 400 at every level, not to mention 29 steals and 8 dongs between AA and AAA this season. In daily leagues I ride talented rookies with low prices until the market corrects itself. I did with George Springer and Gregory Polanco earlier this year and will do the same with Mookie until he hits the $4,000 + range.

As always make sure to check the lineups, give a look at the weather and I toast your team with slightly chilled Manischewitz.

aaralph
Contributing Writer: Ralph Lifshitz

@Ralphlifshitzbb
#DirtyTurban

 

Leave a Reply

