The Daily Degenerate Fantasy Baseball Picks 7/2

aacash2

Let me begin today’s blog with a special birthday shout out to my beautiful daughter Zoe who turns one today. May your birthday be filled with joy and the sweet green spoils of my daily fantasy dominance. I mean what daughter wouldn’t want her Dad to line his pockets with other people’s money on the day of her birth? AmIright? Or AmIright?

aababymoney

In truth the last couple night haven’t been Ralph’s highest quality work. If my last two nights were clothing lines from my name sake they would be the Chaps clothing you buy at Marshall’s. After getting burnt by weather that was worse than expected Monday night in Chicago, I followed it up with mediocre results last night. Only cashing in one head to head and a ten team contest. Our daily fantasy game is one of ups and downs, kids. On another more positive note our very own Guru cashed in both Razzball 20 teamers last night. Good work boss!

We have a full slate of games on the board today but they’ve been broken in half with 8 afternoon games and 7 night games. What I’ll do is talk about my lineup for the night games.

All prices based on DraftKings

SP 1- Julio Teheran, $10,000: The Capital of Iran has been filthy this year putting up a 7.79 K/9 to a 1.74 BB/9. He’s also averaged 22.4 FPPG on DraftKings thus far. I would not expect the points to deviate too far from that number today against the swing happy and light hitting Mets. The other New York team has a 21.8% K% to go along with a .299 wOBA. In fact the only teams with lower wOBA’s are the Phillies, Cubs, and of course the Padres. Nothing less than 7 ip, 7 k’s, 2 ER’s a W will satisfy me.

SP 2- Brandon Workman, $6,700: So far the Red Sox – Cubs series has looked like a contest of who can score the least amount of runs. I hope that continues tonight as I see Workman as a great value play. Through 6 starts Workman has been pretty solid putting up a 3.60 as a starter. I don’t love his walk and k numbers but his k’s are useable at 6.69 and you have to hope the 3.34 BB/9 doesn’t hurt you. The good news for Workman is he gets the lowly Cubs today. Owners of a .292 wOBA, a number only topped by the Padres and a 22.9% K% which is 3rd worst in the league.

C – Chris Iannetta, $3,500: Rhode Island’s favorite son loves a lefty more than he loves a Cranston girl with a serious tan in a leopard skin bikini. Iannetta has a .399 wOBA against lefties this year and gets John Danks today. He’s the first cog in my Angels stack. BTW the Angels as a team have the 2nd highest wOBA against lefties in baseball at .342.

1B – C.J. Cron, $3,800: Cron was been smoking the last few weeks cementing a regular place in Mike Scioscia’s lineup. Just look at his 2 homer game on Friday where he put up 30 points on DraftKings. He’s another part of my Angels stack and he hits lefties pretty well. C.J. has a .365 wOBA against lefties to go with 4 dongs. I’m hoping C.J. goes all Dongey Cron tonight.

2B – Howie Kendrick, $4,200: Another Angel, another hitter who loves a lefty. He’s got a .277 average and a .328 wOBA against southpaws. Not a huge Howie fan but he’s one of the few options at the keystone I’m interested in.

3B – Xander Bogaerts, $3,800: The way Xander and the Red Sox first half has gone it’s difficult to justify playing anyone from that lineup. So I’m not really going to try. I will say Xander’s wOBA against lefties is .342 and he faces Travis Wood today at Fenway. If you decided to go another direction and start Matt Carpenter, Pablo Sandoval, Pedro Alvarez or other similarly priced options I wouldn’t blame you.

SS – Mookie Betts, $2,300: As I said in Monday’s column I’m going to ride Mookie till he either hits and his price goes up, or till he goes all Oscar Taveras and gets sent down. Unlike Taveras, Mookie has SS eligibility which is a huge bonus. He’s going to have a big day one of these games……will it be today??

OF 1 – Mike Trout, $6,000: Because it’s Mike Trout….here’s a quick poem about him…..
I like Mike Trout because he hits
I Like Mike Trout because he gives lefties fits
I like Mike Trout because he’s the tits!

OF 2 – Andrew McCutchen, $5,500: Dread Pirate is putting up MVP numbers once again this season and averaging just under 10 FPPG on DraftKings. He’s been quite the last few games and I’m betting against that trend continuing against Chase Anderson. Anderson averages 1.6 dongs per game. Maybe McCutchen outs one into the Alleghany.

OF 3 –Jason Heyward, $4,000: Heyward has a solid matchup against the Mets and Jacob deGrom. He hasn’t been all that hot of late. deGrom has been lucky against lefty hitters like Heyward sporting a 4.15 FIP. Heyward is also a candidate for the always dangerous and valuable slam and legs.

As always make sure to check the lineups, give a look at the weather and I toast your team with slightly chilled Manischewitz.

aaralph
Contributing Writer: Ralph Lifshitz

@Ralphlifshitzbb
#DirtyTurban

Leave a Reply

