The Daily Degenerate Fantasy Baseball Picks 7/4

aacash2

Happy 4th of July Dirty Turbaners! This is by far my favorite holiday of the year. I mean what’s not to like? It’s a day filled with cookouts, warm weather, cold beer, and the ladies are wearing far less clothing than usual. That’s a winning combination by any measure! The 4th is a day where we get to celebrate our national identity by getting drunk and playing with low grade explosives. Is there anything more American? What’s that??? Yes, riding a giant bald eagle, dressed as John Rambo, wielding bookend semi-autos would be pretty American too. But where am I getting a giant bald eagle? I’ll just settle for a dozen or so cold ones and a box of roman candles, thank you very much!

AAMERICA12

You know what else is super American? Baseball….and gambling on it! We have a full slate of games today including an 11 am start time in DC where the Cubs and Nationals will kick things off. 11 am is a little too early for me, so I’m going to focus my attention on the games beginning at 1:30 and later. There are a ton of great matchups on today’s slate, including a few that feature aces on the hill in Kershaw, Yu Darvish, and Chris Sale. So there are lots of pricey pitching options to consider. My job today is help you figure out where to trim cost so you can get one or two of these premium arms in your lineup. Happy 4th of July indeed! With all of that said….LET’S GO!

All Prices Based On DraftKings

SP 1 – Yu Darvish, $12,500: Darvish wins out over Kershaw today as the top pitching option entirely based on the matchup. I’ll take a dominant pitcher in Metco facing the Mets over a dominant pitcher in Coors facing the Rockies 10 times out of 10. End. Of. Story. If you decided to go Sale here to exploit the Mariners weakness against lefties, I’m with it.

SP 2 – C.J. Wilson, $8,300: Do you think this is the first time in each of their respective lives that C.J. Wilson and C.J. Cron have had to differentiate between C.J.’s? Do you think Mike Scioscia calls them C.J. W and C.J. C? Anythewho, I like Wilson today against the Astros for a couple of reasons. Number 1 the Angels are great at home with a 27-14 record. Number 2 the Astros are bad on the road going 16-25. The third and chief among them is the Astros strikeout a ton and Wilson and his 8.31 K/9 are primed to exploit that. I like C.J. W for 7 IP, 7 K’s, and a W.

C – Chris Iannetta, $3,500: I’ve talked about Iannetta against lefties before and I fully expect him to do some damage against Keuchel today. He’s got a homer against him in the past, let’s hope for another one today.

1B – Michael Morse, $3,700: Morse has a homer off of Eric Stults in the past and he’s a cheap option at first today which is what I need if I’m going to get one of the tops arms in my lineup.

2B – Scooter Gennett, $4,000: Scooter is 2/6 lifetime off of Alfredo Simon but the two hits are homers. I’m buying a scooter and riding him to the fireworks today. Can you get a DUI on a scooter?

3B- Casey McGehee, $3,600: Sure he’s boring, but he’s gone ten straight games with 5 points or more on DK. This pick is nice and safe like a warm blanket and a Ben Stiller movie. Or as some would say my Friday night!

SS – Eugenio Suarez, $3,400: More than anything else here I’m buying the upside with the price. Alex Cobb has been bad lately and Suarez is capable of a couple of hits and a run. That would be a huge win at this price.

OF 1 – Khris Davis, $4,000: Davis has been out the last few games with a shoulder strain, he’s expected back in the lineup tonight. So that’s something to monitor. If Khris with a K is indeed in the lineup he’s a good bet to go yard. Much like his teammate Scooter Gennett he’s got a couple of homers off of Alfredo Simon lifetime. I’m looking for some power today so I’m riding BvP numbers to the bank.

OF 2 – Oscar Taveras, $3,500: If you’re like me you’ve been waiting for the “Chosen One” to take his place as a Fantasy juggernaut for what seems like forever. Well he’s back up in the bigs for the second time this season and has hits in back to back games. I’m hoping he gets all Murica today and gives us some fireworks.

OF 3 – David Peralta, $3,500: He’s been hot of late, including putting up 26 points last night. Options are also pretty thin at this price today so I’m rolling with Peralta. Also nothing makes you feel like a genius more than getting a big night from a low cost option.

As always make sure to check the lineups, give a look at the weather and I toast your team with slightly chilled Manischewitz.

aaralph
Contributing Writer: Ralph Lifshitz

@Ralphlifshitzbb
#DirtyTurban

 

Leave a Reply

